Quick Links

Social Media

About CBN

History | Our Mission & Vision | Branches | Organogram | Departments | The Board | Past and Present Governors

CBN Departments

Economic Policy
This directorate is made up of the following Departments:
  1. Research Department
  2. Statistics Department
  3. Monetary Policy Department
  4. Trade and Exchange Department.
  5. Financial Markets Department.


Departments under this directorate are:-

  • Financial Markets Department
    The Department has the following mandates:

    • Implementation of CBN-mandated and CBN financial market operations
    • Promotion of the Nigerian financial markets to ensure effective monetary policy transmission

  • Monetary Policy

    The Department has the following mandate:

    • Development and implementation of monetary policy

  • Research

    The Department has the following mandates:

    • Development and provision of information services, analyses and policy papers on various areas of the economy including the financial, external, fiscal and real sectors.
    • Macroeconomic modeling and forecasting

  • Statistics
  • The Department has the following mandate:

    • To collect, analyse and manage data on all sectors of the economy, in order to provide statistical support to the Bank, the government, international organizations and other stakeholders.

  • Trade & Exchange
The Department has the following mandate

    • Development and articulation of trade and exchange rate policies working with other arms of government

See departments under other directorates

Please Noteont> that the CBN does not have any other departments outside the country or at any other location besides those listed on this website, If you have received any form of correspondence naming a CBN department that is not on this list please see our 419 disclaimer.

Facts : 1/1/1900
International Monetary Fund:The International Monetary Fund was established in 1945 to promote the health of the world economy with 29 countries sigining the Articles of Agreement. Nigeria joined the IMF in 1961,which now has 184 members with its headquarters in Washington D.C., USA.
See All: Facts | Events

Central Bank of Nigeria:: Did You Find --> Central Bank of Nigeria:: Key Index
Icon Key
Print out page
Refer this webpage to a friend Refer page to a friend
Go to top of page
Definition of word
frequent questions on topic
Make us your homepage
Export data to Excel
Refer this webpage to a friend  Print this page  Return to the top of this page

Permission is granted to reproduce or cite portions herein, if proper attribution is given to the Central Bank of Nigeria. © Central Bank of Nigeria, 2006-2011. All rights reserved.
Legal Disclaimer  | Mail & 419 Disclaimer | FAQ's | Privacy Policy | Feedback | Subscribe to our RSS Feed Subscribe to News  Subscribe to Circulars  Subscribe to Publications  Subscribe to Speeches